The Other Side


From the other side I see myself, looking out into the world. From the other side my friends told me of this moment. When you get to the other side, they said, you will see things much differently, Form the other side, when you get there, you will be a different person, smarter, better, my steel frame forged stronger by the struggles and inner pain of going through it and making it to the other side.

Yes, it is true. And for a while, the other side was this mythical place that I could only imagine. Some where was a cool dry place away from everything I had seen. That’s where I ought to be, that’s where I ought to go. If only I could get there, to that place where I am happy and free. And then I wake up after what seems like a very strange dream, and there I am. It must be how Dorothy felt when she woke up and realized everything she needed and loved was really right there. They never left.

Oh life isn’t perfect, it never is. But it doesn’t have to be perfect to be good, great even. And when I look in the mirror and see the woman looking back at me from the other side, I see her in a different light too. She is strong, and beautiful, kind and …many more things that I did not see or appreciate. And I see that she smiles back at me, seeing that I too am on the other side. Yes, I think this is the start of a beautiful friendship between this girl and me.

And as I stretch and get ready for my life, I am so thankful for what I have been through and all I have seen. My friends were right, it is a lovely view from the other side, and looking back I see what the path was like to get here. Wow. What a journey. And now  there is no fear, there is no hesitation, there is only a sense of hope and optimism. I put my shoes on and start off to the next big adventure with thankfulness in my soul, a song on my tongue and love in my heart.

 

2 thoughts on “The Other Side

  1. Hey Ada
    You are just glowing and blossoming under the spell of a
    loving man and all that consumating, your contentment is infectious and delightful. I am so glad to have wachced and observed your metamorphisis. You have not been overcome with evil but have overcome evil with good.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John

    Like

Speak to me