The Peace of It


And anything that disturbs your prayer, your meditation, your PEACE, must roll off you like water off a ducks back.

The last day and a half has been the most peaceful of times. And also the most fun.  That is because of two things:  First, when someone who is negative, argumentative and just nasty exits, let them.  Second, all that time and energy spent on the negative energy that person brought can now be spent on more positive aspects of life.

Over the  last 36 hours or so, I have gotten more done that in the past week.  It has been very peaceful in my house and in my world. There has been nothing but love, kindness, friendship, laughter and wonderful.

And all of us need a life less all the extraneous drama.  Some thrive on it, some thrive on bringing in to wreak havoc on others lives. Which is why we must be vigilant and very picky about whom we let into our circle.  What is the saying? Not everyone deserves a seat at your table. So you can’t let someone else disturb the peace you have within yourself.  Life will get messy for all of us at some point, and that simply cannot be helped, but we can lesson the frequency and impact if we are good gatekeepers.

These next few weeks will be emotional for me, and all the more reason to make sure that there is only love and support around me.  The first anniversary of Mom’s death will be hard, and I need all the support I can get.  There is no room for strive or unrest or unpeace.  There is no room in my life for anything but goodness, compassion, empathy, loyalty, love, and integrity.

I will follow the goodness, the happy, the wonderful. I  will soak all of the positive in like a sponge, and everything else will roll off me like water off a ducks back. Only that which is good for me, that serves me will be in my life. Because I simply do not have the emotional bandwidth for anything else.

And this summer, though it will be difficult, will also be one of the best. As I sit out on my back deck and watch the fireflies dance with joy, I am thankful that my mother taught me to take the time to sit and sip a glass of wine on a cool night.  I am glad my father taught me about watching the lightning during a storm.  Because not only are these things beautiful and add joy and appreciation to life, but you also have to take time to slow down to enjoy them.

Sometimes the best life isn’t what you can cram into it, sometimes the best moments are the ones we c slow down enough to find.  And there en-lies the Peace of it.

Speak to me

