The First Run


It’s been a little under two years since the last time.  And I did it again tonight for the first time. And it felt great. My body remembered like it was yesterday and soon my muscles had found their rhythm.

I ran today for the first time in a long time.  I went around the neighborhood and down a little road close to home. And there, I found it. My rhythm. and I moved my arms and legs and muscles and pushed farther than I thought I could go.  I pushed past the pain, past the exhaustion, past the breathlessness.

The mind was clear as I listened to my breath and my body.  Nothing existed but the rhythm, and keeping it going.

I have managed to loose 12 pounds and I am looking and feeling great these days. Muscles tone is starting to return, endurance is good and my heart is getting stronger.  And slowly, I am smiling more. And laughing. Joy is around the corner.

Not bad for the first run.

 

Speak to me

