Sitcom Moment: Life is a Revolving Door


The thing about revolving doors

About all those missteps

On autumn floors

Is that no one tells you

Here and there

That people are watching everywhere

So when you trip and fall you see

Everyone is watching you

Including me

But don’t you fret now or later

About this or that or who is greater

Because we’re all just trying to get through – too

So go about be on your way

be not bothered by a trip or fall

life is to short, so have a ball.

So today, in my sitcom moment life, I got stuck in a revolving door. Yes , you read that correctly. When going through a revolving door, you should notice your surroundings and what is needed to actually get through the door. Had I followed this rule, I would have saved myself some embarrassment….

I am at my new workplace, so of course, there must be some kind of clumsy mishap (or four). I had gone through the door from the inside to get outside without a problem. So I assumed going from outside to inside would not have any issues either. That is where I was wrong. Had a paid attention, I would have noticed that in order to have to door revolve around completely, you must scan your access card first. If you just follow the person in front of you (like you would in a normal revolving door) you get stuck due to security.

And that is where I was. Inside the door, not able to go forward or back. Glass and people all around. I was stuck in revolving door hell for what seemed like forever (probably about 30 seconds) when finally someone must have noticed the look of sheer terror in my face and scanned their ID card. The door revolved again, and I busted out of that glass door partition as if I had been drowning…

So remember folks, revolving doors are mostly safe. Unless you are a klutz.

Speak to me

