My Happy Home


A happy home is what something for which we all strive. To have our home a peaceful, wonderful place full love love, laughter, friends and family. As I looked around tonight, I see that I truly have a happy home.

Today my parents came up because dad has a Dr’s appointment to check on his liver cancer. We hope it is good news. It is always a joy to have them stay with me, as we are a very close family and I love the fact that they feel comfortable, welcome and at home in  my home. And as we talked and caught up, as I cooked a wonderful pork loin with all the fixings for them, as my father took a nap, as we sat down to eat, as my mother and I cleaned the table and kitchen…my home was a very happy home.

We laughed, talked, ate, drank, loved and shared a wonderful meal. It is these times, sitting around the dinner table, eating a meal cooked with love, sharing a glass of wine, talking about life and everything in it, these are the important things in life. These are the memories that carry you for a lifetime. These are the moments to be cherished, always, and this is what makes a happy home.

I talked with a wonderful man this weekend about the most important things in life, what warms the heart on a cold winters day, what gets you through those tough times, what makes you happy and smile from the inside out? It’s the time with family friends and loved ones. And as I look around my happy home, as my father is upstairs sleeping, my mother watching TV and reading, and I, in bed typing, I know, deep down in my bones, how blessed I am.

being this blessed makes me want to work harder at being a better person. I have basics down, but Grace is still something that alludes me from time to time, though I am getting better. But I am not there yet, not where I want to be. So I still struggle with grace, I still strive, I still try. Because you cannot be as blessed as i have been, have as many prayers have answered that have been answered for me, and not try to be a better human being and better at overcoming your faults. I may stumble every now and then, but it will not be from a lack of effort.

And I am so blessed to have this happy home.

I truly do adore my wonderful family. And my parents also serve as an example of the kind of relationship I want. They have been married for 45 years, are the love of each others lives and have stuck through thick and thin with each other. It hasn’t always been easy, they both have some pretty strong faults, but they have always loved each other in spite of those faults. They have taught me, by example, what a healthy, realistic love looks like. And when I get discouraged that true love does not exist…I look no farther then where they sit to have it renewed.

I snapped a picture of my Dad, as he napped. It was such a precious moment; him wrapped up in a blanket, the cats on the couch napping with him, and he sound asleep.

Dad Napping with the kitties.
Dad Napping with the kitties.
Speak to me

