A lIfe Full of Blessings


We say a lot of prayers in our lifetime. I certainly have said my share of them. Some have been answered, some have not. The definition of Faith is believing oin something that cannot be seen or proved. And when you pray, you have to have faith that what is supposed to be will be. You have to have faith that God will come through for you, even if it is not in the way you planned.

I used to take issue with asking for what I wanted in life to be happy.  My mother and I had a conversation about this and she was surprised to hear me say that I never asked God for what I wanted. She asked what I prayed for when I prayed. I told her that I simply prayed for God’s will to be done.

She smiled and told me that having faith was asking God, praying for what wew wanted, THEN trusting God that however the prayer was answered was his will. But as his children we had the right to ask for the life we wanted, for our heart’s desire, for what would make us happy. For just as a parent want’s their child to come to them when they want or need something, so does God with us.

And so I started praying different prayers. I prayed heartfully and faithfully for what would make me the happiest. The I said that I hoped that these things were God’s will, but if they were not, I would know that whatever His will was, it was best. And truly it has been.

And my prayers have been answered more wholly than I ever could have imagined. I prayed for guidance to find a career that I truly loved. And I have it. I work for a great company doing what I love, what I cannot believe I actually get paid to do every day. I am a writer. Wow.

And I prayed for my family’s health. And both my parents and healthy, which is unbelievable considering the types of cancer they both had. I prayed that t he crazy ex leave me alone and never cross my threshold again. And that prayer has been answered too.

And I prayed for love. And I have more love in my life than I know what to do with. I am showered with more love than I thought possible every day of my life.. It is magnificent. And I prayed for a full life. And this weekend is a prime example of a life that is filled to the brim with wonderfulness.

Family, friends, loved ones, a puppy and a cat, in addition to my two cats, and they other two that I am fostering. Yes, it will be a very full house, representing my abundant life.

But it was not always easy. Looking back at the pasty year, it has been quite a ride. Quite an up and down hill adventure. But that is the thing about life; it’s magic, crazy, wonderful, tragic, amazing, incredible, beautiful, scary, joyful…and so much more.

Yes life is good and I am happy. An no one can take that away or make my life anything less than incredible. I have all that I have asked for and more.

One thought on “A lIfe Full of Blessings

  1. Pingback: See The Blessings, Feel The Blessings « Wanderlust in my Eyes

Speak to me

