Take a Hike


One of the great things about this time of year is being outside. I took that chance this weekend and it was wonderful. There was laughter and food, jokes and fun, competition and a tight race. There was silverware made out of a Gatorade container when I realized I forgot the forks (that was very impressive). And yes, there was a competition as to who could go, go , go and who would get tired the fastest. I gave it my best shot, but alas, my competitor was superior and beat me. It went down to the wire, but finally, I was beat, fare and square.

I lost the the race and the bet. But sometimes losing can be good. And I don’t ‘t think I have ever enjoyed losing so much. There were no hard feelings, and he enjoyed winning – especially knowing how hard tried.

And that is the important thing I learned – it is not about winning, it’s really not even about how you play the game. To me, at this point in my life, it is about having fun a long the way. It is about trying your hardest and being proud of what you did, even if you did not come in first. It is enjoying the losses just as much as the wins. And it is about enjoying life.

 

Speak to me

