Dating, Dancing and Weekending


It is the weekend, and once again, I am excited. Once again I am going home to speand time with my family. But this trip is not like the others, as this trip will be to just enjoy and be together. Dad is going to be fine and both he and Mom get stronger every day. So there is much to look forward to this weekend.

And this is just one example of how life is much better on this the first day of the sixth month of the year. Family is so important and life just feels out of whack when something is wrong with those who are so very dear.  Now that the emergencies are over, life is much lighter and more enjoyable.

Yesterday I talked with my father for the first time since his return from the hospital. He answered my mother’s phone and hearing his voice unecpectedly nearly took my breath away. What a welcome surprise. And I found myself talking and asking him questions just to hear his voice when he answered.  Life is very fragile and we must appreciate those in our lives who mean the most.

*********************************************************************

It has long been said that dating is a dance. And indeed it is. But does it also have to be a game? No, I don’t think so. It is a dance in the fact that you get to know each other, and determine what to reveal when. I have been told that I am a very hard person to get to know. I disagree with that statement. But I can be hard to handle, even to those who know me best.

So what happens when a klutz tries the dance of dating? Much comedy ensues I am sure.  A few mis-steps, maybe even some smushed toes. But that is the thing about dancing, you just keep going. And if you have a misstep, hopefully you have a partner who is strong and patient enough to keep going too.  And if he is a good dancer, that is even better, and more exciting.

And so it goes, both partners dancing with each other. And as long as they are having a good time and enjoy one another, does it really matter if they are dancing to their own beat? I don’t think so.  If they are really in tune, they don’t need any music at all. And that is what makes it fun, that is what makes it special and that is what makes it beautiful.

And there is something to be said about about the slow burn, and a relationship growing from friendship. Watching that transformation happen is a marvelous thing. Again, things may be a bit clumsy, but there can be great grace even in that. It also doesn’t hurt if he is tall, sexy and a good kisser. So the trick I think, is to just sit back, relax and enjoy the dance.

*******************************************************************

My sister is coming up to visit next weekend. It has been a long time since it has just been the tow of us in the city. Most of the time her visits have revolved around her son, my nephew, or other family members, being there as well. This will be the first time in a couple years that it will be just as girls.

She stays till Tuesday, as she is here for work as well. But the weekend shall Be ours to play. And in planning and thinking about what all we can do, I also remember her growing up.

My big sister, the one who I always wanted to follow and be just like when I was little. And then she would sit on me and tickle me until I pied in my pants (did I really just write that out loud??). She is the one who tortured me growing up, and who helped me understand Math in school. She is the one who I would play play Tag with out in the yard, and Monopoly with on Christmas morning as we were waiting until we could wake our up our parents. She is the one who gently, lovingly and tenderly held me as I cried, battered and bruised after the attack last year. She is the one who hurt as I hurt on that day. And she is the one who has been my support and best friend through so many of life’s struggles and trials. She is the one who buried me up to my neck in the driveway when I was a toddler, she taught me how to make the perfect cup of tea, and cup of coffee. She is my big sister.

And we are going to have such a great time on her visit, just the two of us. There will be cooking and laughing, reading, drinking of wine, eating, meeting friends, a little salon time, sipping tea on the back porch, lots of talking, maybe a little bit of shopping and just being sisters. I can’t wait!

Speak to me

