Blessed Days


I heard it in her voice, as I talked to her on the phone and got the latest news on my father’s condition. They found the problem. It is extremely serious, but fixable. And he will be OK. He has good doctors, they are taking and will take good care of him. I heard the relief in her voice and she told me, even as her exhaustion made her want to cry as she told me. We talked for a little while longer, she filling me in on the details of how Dad is doing and feeling today. Me filling her in the latest in my life  – the houseguest from Hell is gone, job going very well, personal life is quiet but good. We said our goodbyes and I love yous.

And after that conversation, that wonderful sweet conversation with my Mother, I slipped into the ladies room and cried. They were sobs of relief. After almost 2 months of Dad being so sick and weak, being in and out of the hospital, and wondering if we were going to loose him, we know the problem and it is fixable. Her words echoed in my mind “He will be OK.”

And in that tiny stall, with wet, tear stained cheeks, I said a prayer of thanks that I felt all the way down to my toes. My Dear, wonderful, sweet, adorable Daddy is going to be OK. Only by the Grace of God could he have survived these last 7 weeks, and liver cancer before that.

I cannot wait to see him, hug him and hold him for a long time. I cannot wait to see his smile and hear his voice, and know, not only because I have Faith, but because I see him, that he will be OK, that is OK. I cannot wait to hug and comfort my dear mother who has taken such good care of him both at home and in the hospital. I cannot wait to visit and give her a break, and let her rest while I do the work.

And I am so very thankful and blessed

2 thoughts on “Blessed Days

Speak to me

