A Weekend Well Spent


There is something about a weekend that is well spent and that has been this weekend for me. There has been much Spring cleaning…dusting, sweeping, vacuuming, mopping, scrubbing, organizing, doing laundry. I even cleaned out the garage and sprayed it for spiders. That’s right, I am dangerous when it comes to those home spray kits. I finished planting the flower garden…and discovered about 20 carrots that grew better in the mild winter and Spring than when I planted them last year.

The garden was the most challenging and the most fun. I am not a gardener by nature, this is a learned talent. One I have not yet mastered. I dug the holes to plant 25 flowers in addition to what has been already planted, planted the bulbs, marked where they were, forgot to mark what they were (a detail I just realized now), fertilized, then covered everything with pine straw and watered. Now I just have to wait and see if anything grows.

In addition, I spoiled myself I a bit and cooked a wonderful meal. Sometimes you just have to cook something absolutely delicious, just for yourself, to enjoy. I usually cook for others. It was a treat. There was even TV watching (watched the Notebook and cried), going to church and hearing a great sermon, grocery shopping, writing, and a lot of singing – in the car, around the house, in the shower.
Yes a very good weekend well spent with myself. And sometimes you need those.

2 thoughts on “A Weekend Well Spent

Speak to me

