Valentine’s


I wasn’t going to do it. I wasn’t going to post a Valentine’s Day Post. But, being who and what I am, I cannot resist. Valentines Day….a day that brings joy and fear in many. For me it has always brought a sense of joy. Because for me Valentines is a celebration of love, love that is all around us.

So many people think it is about the romance and being a couple, maybe that is why the day strikes fear and dread in so many. But not me. For me, it is about those long talks late at night with your best friend. It is those glasses of wine, laughter, stories and smiles. It is telling my Mom I love her dearly, and hearing my Dad’s voice on the other end of the phone, familiar, strong, and wonderful. It is hearing my sister tell me, hearing the excitement in her voice, the surprise she has planned for her husband.

It is helping my nephews and knowing that they know, they have an aunt, who will be there for them no matter what. It is baby sitting for a friend and her husband, so that they may finally have a night out after the birth of their first child. It is changing diapers and playing with squeaky toys, until there are wonderful, big smiles coming from that sweet little baby face. It is hearing her squeals of joy as I play tickle monster.

It is snuggling up, one Valentines night, with my best friend, her daughter and their cat and their dog, while watching Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (the original), and eating caramel corn until our fingers are sticky. It is helping my best friend clean up the kitchen after her daughter is in bad and staying up catch up talking about the latest happenings in our lives.

It is the sweet smiles, text messages and emails to and from all of my friends.

Yes this Valentines I have a confession: I am in love…with my life. With my friends, with my family. And my heart has never been happier. So wrap the love of those around you like a warm, wonderful blanket. And make today a true celebration of love. Just look, it’s all around you.

2 thoughts on “Valentine’s

  1. I am so happy for you. Today I spend it alone not wanting to, but not having that woman to cuddle with. I am working on it but women my age are very skittish and terrified of getting hurt again. They become self fulfilling prophecies causing themselves to continue to be alone due to their irrational fears.

    You never sent an email telling me about the TRO or the newspaper story.

    blessings on you and yours
    John

Speak to me

