The Special in the Ordinary


Today met me with cold, golden arms and a good-morning kiss of autumn on on my cheek.  After a morning of sleeping late and relaxing around a bit, I listened to some music, pet my two wonderful purring cats, surfed the net, then met with some friends for breakfast and catching up. It was long over due, this breakfast meeting.  He has been a steadfast friend and I got to meet his wife for the first time.  There is just something so wonderful about seeing your friends happy. It was just an ordinary breakfast, but yet it was very special. To reconnect with those who have known me for so long, who have been loyal and wonderful friends.  It was a pleasure and an honor.

And that is the special in the ordinary. The rest of the day was spent doing various household duties, rearranging plants that have been brought in from the cold, cleaning a messy kitchen, vacuuming the toughs of cat hair that seem to appear out of no where and dusting. I did  laundry, went out and saw an extraordinary painting that I am in the process of buying, and even found some time to watch a movie with one of my favorite celebrity crushes Alan Rickman (maybe it’s that English accent). And when I was on my couch watching this movie, I looked around at my clean cozy home, and my happy cats…and found the special in the ordinary.

Maybe that is one of the great secrets of life and happiness.  We must make a conscious effort to find what is special about the world around us, the people around us, to see those wonderful specail moments that we should never take for granted. maybe that is the secret to keeping gratitude close and appreciation as a freind. And to never get bored with what we have in front of us.

That does not mean that we stop searching or looking for more. I still am. But it does mean we stop and take notice of the little miracle that surround us every day. Sometimes we can get so wrapped up in our lives and the daily rat race, that we forget about what is right there. I know I have done that as of late. I have been so caught up[ in legal drama and just trying to get through and heal, that I have overlooked and failed to appreciate some of the wonderful things in front of me. And I have no doubt that taking pause to notice my world will help in healing this somewhat broken heart.

The breakfast with my friends today was very special. because I saw two people who are so very happy and in love with each other. They do not have a perfect life, they do not always have it all figured out, but they don;t have to. They love each other, and that makes it special. And that is what has inspired me. A happy heart is out there, for me, for my life. I can have what they have, I just have to be patient and have faith. And see the special on the ordinary.

Speak to me

