Something About the Rain


There is just something about the rain. Something about the way it sounds on the window pain, something about the way it smells, the way it feels on your skin, cool, fresh, like newness washing in. It is refreshing, it is natural and pure. To me the rain has always had a symbolic meaning of washing away the old and making way for a fresh start. Everything is is so much greener and fresher after it rains. And I love to walk outside and smell the air after a good storm.  Falling asleep to the sound of the rain is a wonderful way to fall asleep,being gently rocked by the sound of the drops against the window. Kissing in the rain is fantastic. Everyone needs a good rainy day and night in their life every now and then.

Today, as I walked out to my car, I got caught in a torrential rainstorm. But instead of running to my car to avoid being wet like I usually do, I walked slowly, feeling each drop as it landed on my skin, letting it wash over me, feeling joy of being drenched down deep. And as I stepped to my car, I stopped. I looked up and I just let it wash over me, each drop cleansing my soul. It was an exercise in the tangible.

And I cried. As my tears mingled with the drops of rain, both running down my face, I felt a sense of relief, of release, and Gods voice resonated throughout my body, kind and warm. “You will be Ok. My Grace will wash you clean until there is nothing of this left” And I stood there, alone in my silence, my sadness and my smallness. And I stood there still, drenched, wet, looking ridiculous, looking like a mess (but a hot mess) and the rain washed over me, over my heart, my soul, my thoughts. And I held nothing in my mind but how the drops felt, what they sounded like and the scent of the rain in the air.

When I got into my car, I felt lighter, cleaner, stronger. My heart still beating, my lungs still breathing, God’s words still in my head. And so I lend myself, to His grace, and I will lean on it, let it support me.  Yes, there is something about the rain washing away all the bad, all the hurt, all the negative and poison that would cause gang green of the soul. Yes, there is something about the rain, and I am coming clean.

3 thoughts on “Something About the Rain

    1. adalamar

      Every day I heal more and more. I still have bad moments…still cry sometimes. But it will be ok and soon it will just be a distant memory, cloudy like and old dream.

Speak to me

