Show Me How to Love You


The most loving thing you can say to your partner is ‘Show me how to love you.’ – Steven Stosney, Psychology Today

When we were children, loving came naturally.  There were no walls to break down, no issues to work through, no jobs or money to worry about.  We just loved, we did not need to be shown how.  Sometime, in between teenage and now, we have lost this instinct a bit. So when I sat down and read another article about relationships, I was not really expecting to learn much, then this line nearly knocked me to the floor.

We all need and want to be loved.  And many of us, like me, are actively looking for a relationship, and when we get it….? Do we know what to do with it?  Do we know how to sustain this illusive thing we are looking for? In this day and age of being clear and knowing exactly what you want, could it possibly be ok to admit that some of us at least, have no idea what we are doing? Or {Gulp} could even be bad at it?

The article mentioned that feeling inadequate encouraged learning in every human area – except love.  That feelings of inadequacy in relationships seem to stimulate feelings of being unlovable or that the way we love is not good enough. We feel inadequate, there for we are.  This can promote looking to our partner to blame.  It can also contribute to feelings of insecurity.

Looking back at the demise of my last attempt at dating, I have been very guilty of this very thing.  I let my feelings of being inadequate make me insecure and blamed my then partner.  Now, not saying he did not play a part in our demise…but I did not handle things in a way that was conducive to a healthy relationship.

In relationships, it seems we can get so caught up in making sure that we voice our needs and how we want to be loved, that we forget the very important and very compassionate request: Show me how to love you. This can be a very hard thing to ask, espcially when we are hurt. If I had made that simple request, things still might have ended, but it would have been a much more honest conversation.

So, here is my admission. I am inadequate. I don’t know what the hell I am doing in relationships (of course, this might be already known to regular readers). I stumble, get insecure, lash out when hurt, clam up when vulnerable….and forget to ask that important question. But I will try, hard, to remember next time. Because I want to learn. Join me, won’t you?

10 thoughts on “Show Me How to Love You

  1. hi I was fortunate to look for your topic in digg
    your subject is outstanding
    I learn a lot in your blog really thanks very much
    btw the theme of you site is really fine
    where can find it

  2. I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both informative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. Your post is important; the issue is something that not a lot of people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to it. Happy New Year!

  3. Hi. I am very pleased I found this website, I really discovered you by mistake, whilst I’d been searching Yahoo for another thing, Anyway I am here now and would just like to thanks a lot for the great blog posting as well as a all round helpful web website (I additionally like the theme/design). I have bookmarked it and also subscribed to the RSS feeds.

  4. Good luck getting people behind this one. Though you make some VERY fascinating factors, youre going to have to do more than carry up a couple of things that could be completely different than what weve already heard. What try to say right here? What do you want us to suppose? It looks like you cant really get behind a novel thought. Anyway, thats simply my opinion.

  5. I just wanted to type a brief note to say thanks to you for the awesome techniques you are posting at this website. My rather long internet look up has now been paid with excellent strategies to share with my colleagues. I ‘d express that we website visitors are unquestionably lucky to dwell in a fabulous site with very many marvellous individuals with valuable pointers. I feel truly privileged to have used your web page and look forward to really more excellent minutes reading here. Thanks a lot again for all the details.

Speak to me

