Tricks of the Trade


We have all heard them through out our lives, those little tricks to staying emotionally healthy in a challenging world. We read them in books called the Secret, we hear them from our parents, we are told them by our friends. Are all of these things wives tales or is there something really to them?

Always keep a positive attitude, keep busy and keep your mind off things, read, go out, stay in…take a break from relationships, the best way to get over someone is to find someone else. Really there is enough advice out there on how to be happy it could make your head spin! The trick seems is to find what tricks work for you. And to me the tricks seem just to be, simply put, ways to deal with things that happen in every day life. All those anxieties, disappointments, fears, broken hearts, bruised egos and scraped knees. And as with anything, everything in moderation.

So what the Hell does all this mean??

There is a saying that life was never meant to be easy…but does it always have to be hard? Does it always have to be a struggle? No, it does not, but it won’t always be a rose garden either. Somewhere out there is that great place called The Middle, and maybe these “tricks” are just what we need to get there.

What takes me from the brink of the world and off the ledge? Mostly family and friends…and lots of conversations with God. The Three F’s keep me grounded: Family, Friends and Faith. What does that mean? I have no idea what it may mean to you, but to me it means that whenever I struggle to find a place I belong in the world (like what I am going through now), these three things seem top ground me and remind me that I am not alone. While there are still tough moments and tears that fall, it is the three F’s that give me comfort. There is also a lot of crying, chocolate eating, some yelling, a little shopping, way too many chick flicks, more chocolate, lots of writing and many late night conversations. Hey, everyone has their vices!

So what is wrong with having tricks up your sleeve when it comes to getting through life? I don’t think there is anything wrong with it at all. And whether these tricks really work, or just help put us in a better frame of mind, does it really matter? I don’t think so. I think what really matters is how we feel. So, let’s roll up our sleeves. It may not keep life from getting hard, but it sure can make those hard times a little easier.

Speak to me

